Academy for Women Entrepreneurs (AWE) ZIMBABWE

The U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA) launched the Academy for Women Entrepreneurs (AWE), a new initiative supporting women entrepreneurs around the world.  ACT in Africa, Portify investments and Maoko have partnered with the U.S Public Affairs Section in Zimbabwe to implement the program. 

AWE, in support of the White House-led Women’s Global Development and Prosperity Initiative, will equip women with the practical skills needed to create sustainable businesses and enterprises. AWE Zimbabwe will be a six-month structured program geared toward all women from across Zimbabwe. Through an inclusive learning community, women from around the country will be given opportunities to explore the fundamentals of business, including creating business plans and raising capital, with the goal of building a better future for families and communities around the world.

Women participating in AWE will have access to DreamBuilder, an online course on women’s entrepreneurship. Participants will engage in facilitated lessons on business management and network with like-minded entrepreneurs and mentors in Zimbabwe and from the the United States. 

Program Outline 

September 2019:

Week 36 (Fri 6 Sep)– Kick-off Session/Networking Tea - Exploring your dream Part 1.

Week 37 (Wed 11 Sept) – Exploring your dream part 2 & Planning your Dream!
Week 39 (Wed 25 Sept) - Making your Dream!

October 2019:

Week 41 (Wed 9 Oct) – Marketing Your Dream!
Week 43 (Wed 23 Oct) - Pricing your Dream

November 2019:

Week 45 (Wed 6 Nov) – Selling your Dream
Week 47 (Wed 20 Nov) – Managing Your Dream

December 2019:

Week 49 (Wed 4 Dec) - Profiting from Your Dream
Week 51 (Wed 11 Dec) - Keeping Track of your Dream / Funding your Dream

January 2020:

Week 3 (Wed 15 Jan) - Keeping Track of your Dream / Funding your Dream
Week 5 (Wed 29 Jan)- Formalising Your Dream

February 2020:

Week 6 (Wed 12 Feb) - Turning Your Dream into a reality
Week 8 (Wed 26 Feb To be confirmed) - Graduation and Pitch Day

If you have any more questions, please contact:
tndlovu@portifyinvestments.co.zw (Bulawayo and Gweru) 0773455138
irene@actinafrica.com (Harare) 0772496673
Kapondol@africau.edu (Mutare) 0772659107

Check out the official AWE video below!

For more information about the program please visit the Official US State Department Academy for Women Entrepreneurs website.

Interested in participating in AWE 2020?

Please sign up by emailing us on hello@actinafrica.com